Gerrard becomes seventh PL Hall of Fame inductee

Liverpool legend Steven Gerrard has become the seventh player to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The now Rangers boss won seven major trophies for Liverpool, including the Champions League, in a 17-year career at Anfield.

Gerrard is the first inductee not to have won the Premier League having joined Dennis Bergkamp, Frank Lampard, Roy Keane, Eric Cantona, Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry on the list.

READ MORE: Premier League winners and losers

He made 710 appearances for the Reds and captained the side to one of the most memorable Champions League final victories of all time, scoring their first goal as they recovered from 3-0 down to beat AC Milan in Istanbul.

He also won two FA Cups, three League Cups and the UEFA Cup in his time at Anfield.

Gerrard has joined former England teammate Lampard, who was honoured on Wednesday.

Click Here: Sevilla soccer tracksuit

On his induction into the Hall of Fame, Lampard said: “As a young lad I remember just wanting to make it into the West Ham team, and looking up to players like Roy Keane, Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry so to be mentioned in the same bracket as them is a real honour.

“I am very proud and thankful for the recognition. The key for me was practice and hard work. I had a talent for arriving and scoring goals. I had done it in all the teams that I played for but to score consistently over that period in the Premier League was mostly down to my hard work and dedication to constantly improve.”

Bergkamp was also added on Wednesday, after Manchester United duo Keane and Cantona had joined inaugural inductees Henry and Shearer earlier in the week.

They have been selected from a 23-man shortlist based on the most combined votes from the public and a Premier League panel.

Here’s the full 23-man shortlist:

Tony Adams, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell, Eric Cantona, Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matt le Tissier, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, John Terry, Robin van Persie, Nemanja Vidic, Patrick Viera, Ian Wright.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *