Lampard becomes fifth Premier League Hall of fame inductee

Chelsea’s all-time leading goalscorer Frank Lampard has become the latest player to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame

The midfielder scored 177 goals in 609 appearances for West Ham, Chelsea and Manchester City.

Click Here: ireland rugby jerseys

He began his career at West Ham and had a short spell at Manchester City before his retirement, but his best years came at Stamford Bridge.

F365 says: Toothless Timo typifies this charged and changed Chelsea

Lampard won the Premier League title on three occasions in a 13-season spell with the Blues, scoring a remarkable 211 goals in all competitions.

The England international was named the Premier League’s Player of the Season after Chelsea’s 2004-05 title-winning campaign.

He is the third of six players to be added to the Premier League Hall of Fame alongside the first two inductees Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry, after the fans voted from a 23-man shortlist.

Manchester United stars Roy Keane and Eric Cantona were announced on Tuesday, with the latter giving a typical response to the news.

Cantona said: “I am very happy and very proud, but at the same time I am not surprised.

“Of course, to play in England was a dream. It is a dream of everybody to play in the Premier League.

“I have been lucky to play in this [Manchester United] team with wonderful players, a wonderful manager and wonderful fans.

“It was the football I dreamt about because Manchester United is a club where they want to win things but in a good way. It was like this in the time of Matt Busby. This is the identity of this club, the philosophy of this club.”

The honour recognises outstanding achievement in the division since its creation in 1992 and in order to be eligible for induction, players must have been retired by August 1, 2020.

The next three of the six will come from the following 23-man shortlist.

Tony Adams, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell, Eric Cantona, Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matt Le Tissier, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, John Terry, Robin van Persie, Nemanja Vidic, Patrick Vieira, Ian Wright.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *