Man City duo Dias and Guardiola win Prem awards

Manchester City duo Ruben Dias and Pep Guardiola have won the Premier League’s Player of the Year and Manager of the Year awards respectively.

The 24-year-old Portugal international played a crucial role in Man City’s title-winning campaign after joining from Benfica in September, as well as helping Pep Guardiola’s men claim the Carabao Cup and reach the Champions League final.

In 32 league appearances, Dias contributed to 15 clean sheets, made 35 interceptions, 24 tackles, 23 blocks and 135 recoveries.

Click Here: west tigers rugby league jersey

England duo grace the ‘perfect’ Euro 2020 XI

Last month he was named the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year, and he is among the Professional Footballers’ Association’s player of the year nominees.

The nominees Dias beat to take the Premier League award were his City team-mate Kevin De Bruyne, who won it last year, Bruno Fernandes, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Mason Mount, Mohamed Salah and Tomas Soucek.

Guardiola, whose side finished 12 points clear of second-placed Manchester United, wins the managerial award for a third time, having also done so on the other two occasions he guided City to the Premier League title, in 2017-18 and 2018-19.

The other nominees were United boss Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Leicester’s Brendan Rodgers, West Ham’s David Moyes and Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa.

Erik Lamela’s rabona effort for Tottenham against Arsenal in March was voted the goal of the season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *